Conservation Commission


The Groton Long Point Conservation Commission consists of seven (7) members appointed by the President with the approval of the Board of Directors for three (3) year staggered terms.

Purpose and Function

The GLP Conservation Commission conducts research into the utilization of our conservation lands, including marshes and wetlands, to obtain information on the proper use of such areas and how to best protect them. The commission takes their responsibility of being stewards of these lands very seriously. The GLP Conservation Commission recommends to the Board of Directors rules and regulations for the responsible management of land within the Conservation District. 

Monthly meetings are held and the minutes are posted on the GLPA bulletin board and on the GLPA Web site.  An annual report is given to the municipality at the Annual meeting in July.

If you are interested in learning more about our activities and/or would like to volunteer, we would appreciate your participation.  We also welcome your suggestions and questions.

Please contact us via email at

Take a walk on the GLP Nature Trail!  Download this free guide here of the trail and be lead on a 45 minute walk along the 1.5 mile trail designed and cut by the GLP Conservation Commission.  
The GLP Conservation Commission installed their own bulletin board in the lobby of the Casino, on the right wall just as you enter.  Bob Ten Eyck customized the board with a driftwood boarder. (Can you see the whale at the top?) 

The Conservation Commission dedicated the Butterfly Garden in honor of David Nickolenko who was a long-time member of the Conservation Commission. The photo below is of the Nickolenko family.